Official South African legislature Authority, Branch & Members

Here we gladly inform you about South African legislature Authority, Branch & Members

The Parliament of South Africa is led by the Speaker and consists of two houses:

  • the National Assembly
  • the National Council of Provinces (NCOP)

Their members (MPs) are selected by parties that have won seats under the proportional representation (PR) voting system.

In Parliament, the National Assembly is responsible for choosing the President. The President must be an MP responsible for passing laws and conducting oversight of the executive. The Assembly can consist of between 350 and 400 members.

The main role of the NCOP, meanwhile, is to champion provincial interests in the national parliament. It consists of 10 delegates from each province, as well as 10 representatives of local government. However, they cannot vote.

Most Recommended: Municipalities in South Africa & Full Details

Provincial governments in South Africa

In South Africa, the provincial governments can only make and carry out laws and policies that affect their provinces. However, they must also work within the framework of national government policies and the Constitution.

Each province has:

  • a Legislature, which consists of between 30 and 80 members, led by a Speaker
  • an executive, which is led by a Premier and Members of the Executive Council (MECs)

Note: If you have questions or corrections regarding this post, kindly use the comment box below.


By stevo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *